Friday, May 30, 2008

our baby is beautiful!


so it's not the best picture because i took a picture of a picture with my camera but it does the job. isn't she beautiful?!?!?! believe me, i'm keeping an eye out for that pig nose. :) the doctor said that everything looks GREAT! all my fluids are good and there are NO HEMORRHAGES! yay! little esther is now one pound, four ounces. so she is just a little itty baby. what a relief after the past few weeks we've had! so we go back to peoria on the 17th of june. the next couple days are going to be little stressful though. we are between insurances for TWO DAYS. can you believe it? two days. so i have to wait to get my shots. i'm a little nervous, but it makes me feel better knowing that she is healthy.
we had lunch with our pastor yesterday. love love love him. he is probably the nicest guy in the whole world. if anyone is looking for a great church, cornerstone christian fellowship www.cornerstoneqca.com is it. it was nice to catch up one on one with him. at bible study on wednesday night, we were discussing mark 8 and how jesus healed the blind man. whenever he spit on him and then he touched him, and the man could see a little but jesus touched him again and his sight was completely healed. so at bible study we were talking about different reasons people think jesus touched him twice and different theorys on why that's the only place in the bible where he did that. well yesterday at lunch, i told jerry my theory on why i think jesus did that. i said that i think jesus gets a kick out of doing things like that (healing us, helping us, blessing us) and it kinda reminds me how on christmas when you open your presents but then someone hides the really good present and busts it out at the end and its way more fun! i think jesus sometimes has fun with us. then mr smartypants york says "well actually, i think jesus was bringing him to a new level of faith...blah blah blah, im so smart." and jerry said yeah i tend to agree with chris. thanks a lot jerko. i still think im right, my answer makes me feel nice on the inside. we were also talking about how the word beg in the bible in two spots actually means lamentations or mourning. jerry was trying to explain that yesterday and i think i understand it because there are times when i feel like i beg God for things or for circumstances. but whenever we were going through all of our losses, it seemed like even though i knew what was going to happen, i felt like i begged God for our babies. it was a different kind of beg though. more like a mourning, or lamentation. so i can see why that term would be used when stephen got stoned and when sad things happen. sometimes we beg God because we are so helpless to do anything else. hmmm this blog is long...are you hapy ira?
well, i need to go eat! have a wonderful day!

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

ok seriously about those leggings...

i'm telling you, they look adorable in the mirror. i guess the nurse today was right when she said not everyone can look like the girls in the magazines. i think she was calling me ugly in a nice way.

so we went to to doctor today... i had a huge list of questions for my midwife. i was very impressed since she doesn't deal with mthfr. she answered most of my questions, and the answers she didn't know she looked up and called me when the office closed. so now we are just waiting to hear back from peoria about my shots because apparently this..





...isn't normal. super disgusting, i hate my stomach. but luckily i dont have any stretch marks lol. it's really frustrating because every time i have a problem with my shots i have to stop taking them for a day or two, but the doctors also say the shots are the only thing keeping me prego. PLUS she put me on three more supplements that i was apparently supposed to be on the whole time, but my perinatologist never prescribed! AND a new prenatal which will help me process folates better since my body is not doing a very good job of it. ugh. more pills. so for a midwife, i think rita is doing pretty good. i guess we find out if i have to go back to peoria sooner than scheduled or if i need another ultrasound first thing tomorrow morning. i don't really see the good in going on and off so many medications all the time. it's annoying because every perinatologist i see says something different because apparently there is very limited info about mthfr. i dont know. im annoyed.

Sunday, May 25, 2008

bizarre

sooo....of all weird things that could have happened to me today, because weird stalks me, at church tonight my high school secretary was there. (all the faculty from my old high school go to my church, kinda fun. except it's not so fun to see the principal....i'm still scared of HIM. remember mr. olmstead?) she always asks how i am like four times a week, and she asked me today what is exactly wrong with me. weeeelllll, i told her what i have and she was like 'you're kidding me! i have mthfr, too' no freaking way! out of one in a bazillion people, i know someone personally with the same blood disorder. bizarre, right? she said she had to go all the way to mayo clinic to be diagnosed because no one around here will deal with mthfr (which i knew that but i didn't realize you had to go THAT far). i thought it was a crazy coincidence.

so rev. helms had some wise words today : "if the shoe fits, take it off." i thought that was kinda cool. he was talking about how people say 'thats just the way i am' and instead of saying that we need to be replacing the way WE are for the way God is. so i guess the first STEP (haha) is taking off the ME shoe and putting on the GOD shoe. i sounded kinda smart right there.

can you believe chris and i went yard saleing for nine hours yesterday. bedrest, shmedrest. my doctor is going to kill me. BUT we got a lot of really cute clothes and a lot of really neat things! does anyone know why people try to sell baby clothes with puke stains on them? i was sicked out. excuse me folks, i would like my baby to stain her own clothes, thank you very much. she doesn't need your babies help :)

okay, well i am tired and my dogs are lonely. adios!

Saturday, May 24, 2008

for amy....

and anyone else who wants to see my gorgeous niece!
did you ever get to see these pics? the photographer took them at the wedding. the top one is my favorite! she's so funny :)

Friday, May 23, 2008

two tickets to the gun show

dang!


i think i'm dying. this pregnancy thing sucks. i never stop puking, my head hurts all the time, and my backaches keep me up all night long. according to my OB- she is very happy because that usually means everything is going well. hmmmm....going well for whom?

also.... if i am 24 weeks, isn't that six months? but september is still 31/2 months away. that does not equal nine months. how many months am i really gonna be pregnant for? i'm seriously confused.

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

just some pictures

the daddy to be ~ (he practices on pancakes though)


here is a funny pic of my VERY pregnant friend Nicole and myself...


how come no one ever told me pregnant girls should NOT wear leggings?


Monday, May 19, 2008

oh ye of little faith

it's so funny how God will remind you how much of a jerk you are sometimes. all week i've been really freaking out about all this baby stuff and worried a lot about complications and pretty much letting things that i can't control get me down. so i went to church on sunday night feeling like a big ball of crap...and then whenever we started praise and worship we sang that hymn "there's power in the blood"
"there is power, power, wonder working power in the precious blood of the Lamb"
it just really reminded me that i don't need to freak out about or worry about what will happen in the future. it's my job to have faith and thank God for what He has already done for us. the blood covers all of our circumstances and, like the song says, it is wonder working. thank God that we don't have to worry about the future because He wrote it out for us.

Saturday, May 17, 2008

Friday, May 16, 2008

you learn something new every day...

Sooo...in researching mthfr (Methylenetetrahydrofolatereductase), i'm thinking it might be more of a big deal than i thought. why would you think the doctor's don't tell you anything about it when they diagnose you? i'm very confused, but as long as the baby kicks every day i guess everything's okay....or is it...this website is very alarming... www.mthfr.net